Porto Alegre – Rio Grande do Sul

Porto Alegre is the largest and best developed city of the southern states and the gateway to the mountain resorts of Gramado and Canela.

While the falls at Foz do Iguaçu – that border Brazil and Argentina – is the main attraction in the south, the southern states of Rio Grande do Sul, of which Porto Alegre is the capital, Santa Catarina and Paraná are full of contrasts and surprises. It is the region responsible for Brazil’s fine wines and most of the country’s outstanding beef. It is also the region where European influences mix with those of the ‘gaúchos’ and where, in the 17th century, the Jesuits built their missions alongside the settlements of the Guarani indians.

Besides Foz, attractions in the south also include the Itaimbezinho Canyon, the largest in Latin America at over 2,000 feet deep, four miles in length and over a mile wide in places.

Porto Alegre will host five matches during the World Cup in the totally renovated Estadio Beira Rio that was built in 1969 and sits on the banks of the Guaiba River. The 49,000 seater stadium is normally home to Internacional, a team that won the Copa Libertadores in 2006 and 2010 and the FIFA Club World Cup in 2010. The stadium hosted the final of the Copa Libertadores in both 2006 and 2010.

Unlike Rio de Janeiro, the south of Brazil, including Porto Alegre, has four distinct seasons including a real winter when the temperatures dip noticeably.

Estadio Beira Rio – Schedule:

Sunday, 15 June, 16.00 (France x Honduras)
Wednesday, 18 June, 13.00 (Netherlands x Australia)
Sunday, 22 June, 16.00 (Algeria x South Korea)
Wednesday, 25 June, 13.00 (Argentina x Nigeria)
Monday, 30 June, 17.00 (round of 16)

305551_495562903797678_1486957489_nPorto_Alegre_skylineLago_do_parque_da_redenção_-_2CentrodeportoalegreLargo_dos_açorianos_2Cais_Mauá_Porto_Alegre_210001310_841766205839228_1398839916_n©2014_Gabriel_HeusiEstádio Beira-Rio, Porto Alegre 2Estádio Beira-Rio, Porto Alegre 1Porto Alegre