Host Cities

Due to the size of Brazil, FIFA has allowed the country to nominate a record twelve cities to host the games, six of which hosted games during the 1950 World Cup. The double host cities were Belo Horizonte, Curitiba, Porto Alegre, Recife, Rio de Janeiro and São Paulo, while first time host cities were Brasilía, which did not exist in 1950, Cuiaba, Fortaleza, Manaus, Natal and Salvador.

For more information about the host cities and Brazil in general, go to our sister site

Enjoy some basic information, photos and videos of the the twelve host cities of the 2014 FIFA World Cup and their surrounding areas. Simply click on the host city listed below to go to its page.

World Cup cities

  1. Belo Horizonte – Minas Gerais
  2. Brasília – Federal District
  3. Cuiabá – Mato Grosso
  4. Curitiba – Paraná
  5. Fortaleza – Ceará
  6. Manaus – Amazonas
  7. Natal – Rio Grande do Norte
  8. Porto Alegre – Rio Grande do Sul
  9. Recife – Pernambuco
  10. Rio de Janeiro – Rio de Janeiro
  11. Salvador – Bahia
  12. São Paulo – São Paulo

For a 360° video tour of the twelve host cities CLICK HERE