Confederations Cup

Brazil ChampionsPrior to the 2014 World Cup, Brazil hosted the Confederations Cup in 2013 from 15 to 30 June. Brazil won the tournament, beating Spain three-nil in the final, having already won the tournament in 1997, 2005 and 2009, when the tournament was played in South Africa.

Neymar finalThe six host cities for the tournament were Belo Horizonte, Brasilia, Fortaleza, Recife, Rio de Janeiro and Salvador. All were testing stadiums to be used in the 2014 World Cup.

Teams that qualified for the tournament included Brazil as the host; Spain as reigning World Champions; Italy from Europe; Uruguay as the champions of South America; Mexico as champions of CONCACAF; Japan as the Asian champions; Tahiti as Oceania champions; and Nigeria as the champion of the Africa Cup of Nations.

ConfederationsThe eight teams were split in to two groups with the top two in each group going forward to the semi-finals. The groups and final order were:

Group A

  1. Brazil (9 points)
  2. Italy (6 points)
  3. Mexico (3 points)
  4. Japan (0 points)

Group B

  1. Spain (9 points)
  2. Uruguay (6 points)
  3. Nigeria (3 points)
  4. Tahiti (0 points)

Confederations Cup Results 2013

Belo Horizonte – Mineirão
Monday, 17 June (Tahiti 1×6 Nigeria)
Saturday, 22 June (Japan 1×2 Mexico)

Semi Final
Wednesday, 26 June (Brazil 2×1 Uruguay)

Brasília – National Stadium Mané Garrincha
Saturday, 15 June (Brazil 3×0 Japan – Opening Game)

Fortaleza – Castelão
Wednesday, 19 June (Brazil 2×0 Mexico)
Saturday, 23 June (Nigeria 0x3 Spain)

Semi Final
Thursday, 27 June (Spain 0x0 Italy – Spain win on penalties 7-6)

Recife – Pernambuco Arena
Sunday, 16 June (Spain 2×1 Uruguay)
Wednesday, 19 June (Italy 4×3 Japan)
Sunday, 23 June (Uruguay 8×0 Tahiti)

Rio de Janeiro – Maracanã
Sunday, 16 June (Mexico 1×2 Italy)
Thursday, 20 June (Spain 10×4 Tahiti)

The Final
Sunday, 30 June (Brazil 3×0 Spain)

Salvador – Fonte Nova
Thursday, 20 June (Nigeria 1×2 Uruguay)
Saturday, 22 June (Italy 2×4 Brazil)

3rd and 4th place play off
Sunday, 30 June (Uruguay 2×2 Italy – Italy win on penalties 3-2))

Final 01_________________________________________________________________

Copyright © 2012-2013
World Cup the Guide – Critical Divide
All rights reserved – Todos os direitos reservados