UK TV schedule for World Cup round of 16 on BBC and ITV

BBC World Cup studioThe BBC and ITV have agreed the split of live games for the Round of 16 stage at the World Cup in Brazil.

Played over four consecutive nights from 28 June  to 1 July, both broadcasters will each screen four second round matches  exclusively live.

BBC had the first, third, fifth and seventh pick and ITV second, fourth, sixth and eighth choice.

The break down and time of broadcast in the UK is:

Saturday, 28 June
Brazil v Chile, 5pm, BBC
Colombia v Uruguay, 9pm, ITV

Sunday, 29 June
Netherlands v Mexico, 5pm, ITV
Costa Rica v Greece, 9 pm, ITV

Monday, 30 June
France v Nigeria, 5 pm, BBC
Germany v Algeria, 9pm, ITV

Tuesday, 1 July
Argentina v Switzerland, 5pm, BBC
Belgium v USA, 9pm, BBC

Following the Round of 16, ITV will have first pick of the quarter finals on 4 and 5 July, while the BBC has first choice of the semi-finals to be played on 8 and 9 July.

The actual final, on Sunday, 13 July, will be broadcast live on both BBC One and ITV, while the 3rd place play-off the day before will be shown, as in 2010, by ITV.